Hear out children speak their voices… it’s their planet we’re borrowing…!

Hello, I’m Severn Suzuki, speaking for ECO, The Environmental Children Organization. We’re a group of 12 and 13 year olds trying to make a difference. Vanessa Suttie, Morgan Geisler, Michelle Quigg, and me. We’ve raised all the money to come here ourselves. To come 5,000 miles to tell you, adults, you must change your ways. Coming up here today, I have no hidden agenda. I am fighting for my future.

Losing my future is not like losing the election or a few points on the stock market. I am here to speak for all generations to come. I am here to speak on behalf of all the starving children around the world whose cries go unheard. I am here to speak for the countless animals, dying across this planet every day, because they have no where left to go.

I am afraid to go out into the sun now, because of the holes in our ozone. I am afraid to breathe the air, because I don’t know what chemicals are in it….


While attending Lord Tennyson Elementary School in French Immersion, at age 9, she founded the Environmental Children’s Organization (ECO), a group of children dedicated to learning and teaching other youngsters about environmental issues.[3] In 1992, at age 12, Severn Cullis-Suzuki raised money with members of ECO, to attend the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro. [Source: Wikipedia]

This entry was posted in Earth Matters, Eco Matters, Eco-Responsible, Endangered Species, Energy Conservation, Global Warming, Habitat Destruction, Humanitarian, Illegal Logging, Poverty Eradication & Alleviation, Rainforest Destruction, Responsible Tourism, Social Entrepreneurship, Sustainability, Sustainable Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hear out children speak their voices… it’s their planet we’re borrowing…!

  1. Pingback: Severn Callis-Suzuki: The girl who silenced the world for 5 minutes in 1992 | IDEAS INSPIRING INNOVATION

Leave a Reply

